Planning & Zoning Board

The Planning & Zoning board is responsible for reviewing and taking action on the applications for development pursuant to the county’s land development code and other ordinances. The board oversees the effectiveness and status of the land development code and recommends amendments to the Board of County Commissioners that are consistent with the county’s comprehensive plan. The board provides advice about land use policies through regular meetings and ad hoc scheduled workshops. It also conducts public hearings to gather the necessary information draft, establish, amend, and maintain various elements of Madison County’s comprehensive plan and Land Development Code.

The Planning & Zoning board meetings are held on the first Thursday of each month at 5:30 p.m. at the courthouse annex building, room 107. These meetings are open to the public. Agendas are available the week prior to the regularly scheduled meeting dates.

2018 Meeting Dates

2019 Meeting Dates

Planning & Zoning Board Members:

District 1:       Mack Primm, Chairman      Term Expires January 1, 2019

District 2:       Mike Holton                          Term Expires December 1, 2020

District 3:       Calvin Malone                      Term Expires February 1, 2019

District 4:       Richard Cone                        Term Expires December 1, 2020

District 5:       Christy Grass                         Term Expires February 1, 2021

At-Large:        Jeanne Bass, Vice Chair      Term Expires June 1, 2021

At Large:         Chad Thurner                       Term Expires June 1, 2019

Alternate:       Dot Alexander                       Term Expires February 1, 2019

Alternate:       Vacant                                   

School Board Representative:  Tim Ginn